EPI * Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency

managing EPI

Forum

Forum Home > General Discussion > 4 years old GSD, confirmed diagnosis today

Marie

Hello guys,

I am so happy to have found this forum you have no idea. Here is a little about me and my dear friend Swat.

First language is french so I hope its not to much of a hassle to understand me

I worked as a vet technician for 10 years but I have been teaching in highschool now for 3 years. I have had Swat for 2 years and he has always had diarrhea issues on and off.

I ran a TLI on him last week since his diarrhea had been getting out of control and he has lost a great deal of weight. Well, here it is confirmed, Swat has EPI. His TLI came back at 1.6 I think? (I will go pick up the detailed results, I spoke to a tech). and I was told his B12 was a little low.

Swatt is curently on a raw horse meat diet and his stools were the typical soft kind of beige colored you would expect from an EPI canine. I received his diagnosis today and also received the enzymes from Diane today (what a timing!)

Ill have to admit my vet sounds pretty clueless when it comes to what to do. He doesn't thing antibiotics are needed and doesn't see the link between the B12 and SIBO...sigh.

I live in the country so its going to be hard to find a good vet.

Today I mixed 1tbs of enzymes with his 1.6lbs of raw meat and water. Result; a very smelly dog and liquid stools. What should I do for his next meal? More or less enzymes? Or is this normal for the first time?

My vet doesn't believe in feeding raw to dogs and recomended a low fat (I thought this wasn't true anymore?) and highly digestible commercial food. Swat loves his meat and it has been the best results with him. (we tried so many commercial and vet foods out there and his meat gives him less diarrhea pre- enzymes).

So here we are, christmas eve, worried about our little guy. Thank you so much for your support.

Marie

December 24, 2012 at 11:25 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Paula