Hair loss in a dog with EPI

Epi4Dogs Foundation Inc.’s mission is the advancement of science and education relating to EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency), yielding useful insights and positive outcomes in better managing EPI in dogs and cats. Our goals are to support and/or collaborate with veterinary EPI research and researchers, and to promote EPI awareness by educating the general public, pet owners, pet organizations, rescue and shelter organizations, veterinary schools and veterinarians.
awesome
State: Georgia

Hair loss in a dog with EPI

Post by awesome » 02 Oct 2018, 11:57

Hey Folks,
I am new to the EPI4DOGS forum. I rescued a 3-1/2 shetland sheepdog in April. Shortly thereafter she was diagnosed with EPI. Started her on the enzymes and B-12 injections. The first enzyme we tried didn't work so my vet switched her to another one. It seems to be working because she gained almost 3 lbs. the first month she was on the new enzyme. But now she has suddenly started losing her fur. I took her back to the vet last Friday and her labs were normal. Has anyone had a dog with EPI and experienced sudden fur loss? Any words of wisdom for me? thanks,
Susan, mom of "Awesome" my sheltie.

Miss Maddie Moo
Staff

Re: Hair loss in a dog with EPI

Post by Miss Maddie Moo » 02 Oct 2018, 12:12

I could filled my dyson eveyday :lol: when Maddie was first DX they blow a new coat even when they shouldnt its all part of the repair process.
Are you folowing the EPI protcol that we recommend.
Porcine Enzymes 1 tsp to 1 cup of food.( if usa based)
We recommend grain free food below 4 % fibre do not restrict the fat.
B12 important you keeo this above 600 for life.
Antibotics if the poop goes south if the intial dose of enzymes dont improve the poop.
Also dont worry if they start to pong that normal as well :D