GSD with EPI

Epi4Dogs Foundation Inc.’s mission is the advancement of science and education relating to EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency), yielding useful insights and positive outcomes in better managing EPI in dogs and cats. Our goals are to support and/or collaborate with veterinary EPI research and researchers, and to promote EPI awareness by educating the general public, pet owners, pet organizations, rescue and shelter organizations, veterinary schools and veterinarians.
MICHAELASWITCH
State: Missouri

GSD with EPI

Post by MICHAELASWITCH » 21 Mar 2019, 22:47

Hello Everyone. I am new to this EPI world with my 1 year old German Shepherd dog. He was diagnosed about 2 months ago with EPI at (11 months) and seems to be doing fine. We did b12 shots for about 6 weeks along with pancreatic enzyme powder. He is still currently on the powder 3 times a day. My concern is, is that we went to the vet the other day and he hasn't gained any weight back, but he hasn't lost any either (which I guess is a positive). We've switched over to a new food recently per the vet and more meals a day hoping that it will help him gain some weight. He has always has solid stools since starting on the powder, except one night he had diarrhea. He acts fine and his energy level is so much higher than it was before this diagnosis. I'm just concerned because he's not gaining weight, and I almost feel at a loss. We've done several things. Has anyone else struggled with this? How long did it take for your dog to gain weight back? I'm wondering if we shouldn't go back on the B12 shots? Any help or insight will be greatly appreciated. Our vet has been awesome to be of help, but as a dog momma I just feel lost because I don't know a lot about it.

Jean
Forum Director
Pet name: Kara, lost 10th May 2019
My name: Jean

Re: GSD with EPI

Post by Jean » 22 Mar 2019, 03:59

good morning from the UK

The answer is YES, we struggled for a long time

I wonder, can you be more specific