New to EPI and need some guidance

Epi4Dogs Foundation Inc.’s mission is the advancement of science and education relating to EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency), yielding useful insights and positive outcomes in better managing EPI in dogs and cats. Our goals are to support and/or collaborate with veterinary EPI research and researchers, and to promote EPI awareness by educating the general public, pet owners, pet organizations, rescue and shelter organizations, veterinary schools and veterinarians.
Mandy
State: Arizona
Pet name: Shazam
My name: Mandy

New to EPI and need some guidance

Post by Mandy » 08 Feb 2020, 07:56

Hello,.

I am new to all of this and am desperate for some guidance. I've only gotten the diagnosis about 2 weeks ago and finally got him started on the enzymes about a week ago. (THANK YOU enzymediane.com, they really are cost effective!) I called my vet due to some concerns about the B12 injections, and we got to talking about how he was doing, I told her that he was started on the enzymes and hes doing so good but i have concerns about how wet his poops can be, she said to increase his enzymes to about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 tsp per 1 cup of food, and along comes a new problem......Nothing will get a dog owner out of bed faster than the sound of a sick dog and poop....... He pooped almost black diarrhea all over his kennel. Is he getting too much enzymes now?

Tuckaboo Pam
State: Florida
Pet name: Tucker
My name: Pam H.

Re: New to EPI and need some guidance

Post by Tuckaboo Pam » 08 Feb 2020, 11:19

Mandy, HI! I'm going back to read your post, but I feel your anxiety & wanted to respond immediately. ALL WILL BE WELL!!! You've come to the right place. I'll tell you what I know shortly, and then some staff members will really break it down for you.---Pam