Recently diagnosed GSD

Epi4Dogs Foundation Inc.’s mission is the advancement of science and education relating to EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency), yielding useful insights and positive outcomes in better managing EPI in dogs and cats. Our goals are to support and/or collaborate with veterinary EPI research and researchers, and to promote EPI awareness by educating the general public, pet owners, pet organizations, rescue and shelter organizations, veterinary schools and veterinarians.
SarahC55
Pet name: Reva
My name: Sarah Coton

Recently diagnosed GSD

Post by SarahC55 » 14 Jul 2022, 07:55

Hi – my name is Sarah, I’m a recently retired veterinary nurse in the UK and I have a 13 month old GSD called Reva. Reva is a small, energetic long haired bitch who has always been slightly underweight as many adolescent high energy GSDs are, and ownership of past GSDs led me to expect her to start “filling out” with approaching maturity. She has no history of digestive problems other than an occasional bout of runny diarrhoea, usually linked to some form of disgusting scavenging, that has always settled down within a couple of days with light diet and probiotics.

Four weeks ago she suddenly started producing smelly “cow pat” poos coinciding with increased appetite and coprophagia. Light diet/probiotics had no effect, so although she is on Nexgard Spectra I added in a broad spectrum wormer. The diarrhoea continued, so next we sent off a 3 day pooled faeces sample in case of nasty bugs or odd parasites but this came back negative. Her visible weight loss and increasingly voracious appetite was becoming worrying, so we decided to trial oral antibiotics for possible bacterial overgrowth. A couple of days later, peering glumly at a curiously greasy, oily looking poo glistening attractively in the chilly dawn, the penny suddenly dropped and I took her back to the surgery for a blood test, kicking myself that I hadn’t recognized the signs before.