Sneezing after meals

Epi4Dogs Foundation Inc.’s mission is the advancement of science and education relating to EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency), yielding useful insights and positive outcomes in better managing EPI in dogs and cats. Our goals are to support and/or collaborate with veterinary EPI research and researchers, and to promote EPI awareness by educating the general public, pet owners, pet organizations, rescue and shelter organizations, veterinary schools and veterinarians.
mkay
State: Colorado
Pet name: Pepper
My name: Morgan

Sneezing after meals

Post by mkay » 15 Dec 2023, 20:35

Hi all, I'm a bit of a newbie but this forum has been monumentally helpful for the treatment of my furry friend. Epi4dogs is an amazing information-rich site and I'm eternally grateful for all that you do here.

Pepper is a 7 year old blue heeler mix, and as of now the most expensive dog we've ever had 😅 Several months ago Pepper started having the usual symptoms of fatty diarrhea, coprophagia, gas, stomach gurgling, increased hunger, weight loss, etc. She was diagnosed with EPI and we started her on enzymes a couple months ago. She's done very well and has gained almost all of the weight back, but we're still trying to get some of her other symptoms in check.

In the beginning she was on a plant-based enzyme product, and after discovering this forum I've switched her to porcine enzymes from Enzyme Diane. While the plant-based enzyme did cause significant improvement, she's gotten even better since starting the new enzyme.

I also just started her on slippery elm yesterday (1/2 scoop of the powder from Wonderlabs 20 minutes before breakfast and dinner. She also gets lunch, but without the SE per what I've seen on the forum) as well as a B12 supplement. She was getting a different B12 supplement before, but she's now on the Wonderlabs supplement with intrinsic factor, also started yesterday. Additionally, I was giving her a probiotic which I've now stopped.